Reel advice

gazh

Reaction score
I'm new to carp fishing and need a llittle advice on reels please. I currently use a okuma baitrunner reels but have been offered some new daiwa emcast advanced airbail 6000 reels , which have no baitrunner on . Can these be used for carp fishing and do i adjust the drag knob to allow the line to run off spool if i get a run, any advice or tips much appreciated

thx in advance

tight lines all

gary

Carpless

Reaction score
Can't tell you if the reels are any better but yeah you can loosen the drag to alow line to run and then when you pick up put a finger on the spool to stop it spinning while you tighten the drag up. Really up to you though i prefer the convenience of baitrunners.

gazh

Reaction score
did a bit of googleing and found most people don't like these conversion kits, so i'm looking at other reels, any advice appreciated got a budget of around £170 -£200 for a pair of reels. i know i'm not going to get the best but want something thats going to last me for a while. I don't fish very big waters at moment but maybe in future

thanks again

R

RobD

You could get yourself three used SHimano 10000WTE's for that money mate, you'd not regret it /forum/smilies/wink_smiley.gif

Carpless

Reaction score
If you intend on fishing bigger waters then a decent pair of big pits won't come cheap. Maybe a aero GTE series reel from shimano. i know some people have had issues but they are decent reels within your price range and hold a fair bit of line. Have a look here and see what the other fishingmagic members think of different reels.

gazh

Reaction score
did you mean xte's ?? and where would i get them from robin ? you know someone /forum/smilies/i_dont_know_smiley.gif

Carpless

Reaction score