PVA Advice

B

B.JOHNN

Hello again

I'm still trying to pick people's brains.As i've said before i'm new to carping and i want to use pva so just wondering whats the best type to start off(or does it matter)

Would i be better with the bags or mesh?which leads me onto the next question whats the best technique with pva for winter.

once again appreciate any feedback!

Paul H

Reaction score
Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
Depends what you want to put in the PVA.

Mesh will not hold PVA friendly liquids (obviously).

I use the Korda 4 Seasons mesh tubing mostly to hold pellets, crushed boilies, etc...

The Korda PVA will dissolve fine in cold water but you don't want to be overfeeding with large sticks of bait. I think some people use bags to hold a small amount of feed with some liquid flavour; the idea being to just create a scent trailthe fish can home in on whereupon they find your hookbait

B

B.JOHNN

Cheers pikey

I was leaning towards using the mesh tubing so think i'll have a blast with that!

Gav Barbus

Reaction score
Yes I would go for the mesh to start out with it is easier to use John,try and find the esp kit about 6.99 and the refills 3.50 they are alot cheaper than any other brand company and it is good gear.

W

Wolfman Woody

It's horses for courses.

Bags are great when you have a sloppy mix with lots of liquid like Paul says and when you want to insert the lead in the bag as well so it all goes out as a package, ie hook, lead, leader, bait, and loosefeed. Yes, that does happen.

I use both, but the important message is - don't put too much in them. Remember, they are just an added attractor and too much they feed the fish rather than it picking up your bait.

Paul H

Reaction score
The great thing about the mesh tubing is you can tie any size package you want from it; no need for a selection of bag sizes. You can get different diameters though.