Wels Catfish

alex_molloy

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am looking to do a little bit of catfish fishing in my local fishery, please could anyone give me any advice as i am a complete novice at fishing for catfish. I normally fish the River for Barbel so will some of my tackle be sutible to use ? I have 12" 2.25 rods and shimano 5000 re reels, any help on rigs, bait and location would be much appretiated, I am also going to go down to the fishery over the weekend to see if i can get any advice . Thanks Alex

rouse01

Reaction score
if theres big cats in the lake u want 2 use strong gear,i use 18pd adrenaline & 45pd kryston braided hooklink & proper catfish hooks,its no gud using small hooks & a mono hooklink cus u risk losin the fish,thats the last thing u want 2 happen.....dunno bout ur rods m8,i personally use 3.25test curve.....& my reels are shimano bait runners,you also want a decent size landing net,i use a 50inch.....best bait ive found 4 cats personally is livebait,other gud baits r deadbait,leaches,hailbut pellets,luncheon meat,sum people even ave success on a bunch a lobworms......i personally alwayz put big beds of baits out i.e hailbut pellets & fish ova it....try puttin maggots out with it aswell as this will attract the small fish & they will attracts the cats,my m8 ad success doin this on a recent trip 2 france.....as 4 location u can usually find the cats in the deeper water or in deep holes or if theres any overhanging trees or bushes,snaggy areas u shud find cats there....hope this helps!

alex_molloy

Reaction score
Thankyou for the reply, i forgot to add they grow up to 27lb+ in the local fishery, what test curve rod would you suggest ? for the reel should i use a big carp reel ? thanks for the help regarding bait and location, i'm hoping to go down tomorrow to have a look around. Is there any other tackle requirements i will need ? ive got all the forceps and bite alarms, Thanks Alex

terry m

Reaction score