Ebro - Any help?

fishingjack

Reaction score
Hi guys,
next month I am heading to the river Ebro in Spain to try fishing for wels catfish. I've never been before but I've wanted to do it for years. I have some years of experience catching large catfish in Thailand. Mekong catfish, Stripped catfish, red tail catfish etc. I'm quite sure I have the required gear etc.
I'm flying out with my wife and then hiring a car so that I can drive around where ever I want. Caspe and Mequinenza seem to be the best spots. I will have all my own heavy tackle. Rods, reels, lines, hooks, swivels, traces etc. I even have an inflatable dinghy. I don't want to spend the 600 to 800 Euros for a guide for a week.

IMG_0237sm.jpg

1 reel loaded with 600 yards 100lb braid
1 reel loaded with 300 yard 100 lb braid
1 reel loaded with 280 yards 100lb braid

All running +40lbs drag at max. All the gear and no idea?

What would be perfect would be to meet up with someone who lives out there so that they could tell me any dos and don'ts. I'd be happy to fish with some of you out there for a day or whatever sharing any costs. My only concern is falling foul of a law and getting a big fine, having tackle seized.

From what I can see rules include:
No ground baiting
No dead baiting on Catalan stretch
No live baiting
Keep passport with you at all times
No fishing before 6am
No fishing after 12am.
One side of river at Mequinenza requires a different license to the other side?

All the rules and regs I've been hearing about are really making it a bit stressful to even think about. :eek:mg:

So if anyone can give any tips that would be great. I may just hire a guide for a day. If I catch nothing I can live with it. It wont be the end of the world and I can treat it as a scouting trip.

Last edited:

geoffmaynard

Content Editor
Reaction score
So if anyone can give any tips that would be great. I may just hire a guide for a day.