Fishing...... Science or art?

chav professor

Reaction score
Found an interesting quote by the very eminent late scientist, Professor Barrie Rickards and it makes interesting reading.

'Science must, then, play a part in angling, as it plays a part in all our modern living. I am a scientist, a geologist, but I am firmly convinced that angling is not a science. Its an art. it adopts any useful criterion, adds to its repertoire, and welds it to the hunting instinct that is our natural heritage.

Accept and recognize that heritage, add science and you have an equation which succeeds; begin with scientific theory and you will make a poor angler.'

It is a thought provoking point of view from the standpoint that I am a scientist and apply elements of science in my approach - well, by saying that, I can justify or reason my approach in a number of circumstances.

I am also firmly of the belief that fishing is a difficult medium to apply scientific reasoning to draw firm conclusions as the variables that are beyond my control and the permutations of interactions between the many variations are infinitesimal.

It is possible to measure some of the variables: temperature, barometric pressure, light values, water turbidity, flow rates etc But I could never tie them together in a satisfactory way in-order to make logical sense. Beyond looking at general trends in the weather and the conditions as I expect to find them.... thats good enough for me!

Quite possibly the most useful tool to inform anglers of how fishing may be effected is to get down the river regularly and follow the five day weather forecast - beyond that, its instinct.

Then take into account the behavioral elements of our quarry, they are influenced by metabolic rate, morphology - (certain fish are better adapted to deal with flow or oxygen levels), angling pressure, predation, competition for resources, reaction to food availability etc.