which rig is the best?

nathan 8

Reaction score
My name is Nathan and have just started carp fishing.I have been carp fishing for nearly a year and a half and am really enjoying it.My P.B is 17lb mirror carp and have just starting to make my own rigs But i am not very good at it. Which rig do you think i should use and which set up shall i use.

please write back and give me some information which you recommend i should use.I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Nathan

Paul H

Reaction score
Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
What types of rig have you caught fish on already?

What type of water or waters do you fish - lakes or rivers?

What is the bottom like - muddy, weedy, gravel?

What sorts of bait do you use - boilies, pellets, worms, corn, etc...?

Do you use PVA bags or feeders or bait up by hand or spod?

The best advice is keep your rigs simple but all of those questions could have an impact on what is the best rig to be trying.

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
Hello Nathan,

The best all round rig for Carp Fishing is the Simple Hair Rig.

Of course there are lots of Variations to the Simple Hair Rig but basically they are still hair rigged.

There are also some excellant articles on Fishing Magic regarding Different Rigs, word of WARNING. don't do what a lot of other Carp anglers do and go and over complicate methods that already work for you, there is no wonder rig, there are only rigs that work for that person at that time.

Locate your fish, understand the water you are fishing, put the right bait in the right spot at the right time and you have more chance than the guy with the supposed WONDER RIG fishing blindly in the hope that his new rig will save him blanking. /forum/smilies/devil_smiley.gif

C

Cakey

Nathan go to a good tackle shop and buy a couple of ready tied ones and then keep practising your rig tying and you also know what they should look like

nathan 8

Reaction score