Do carbon rods "soften"?

B

binka

Does anyone know if carbon rods actually soften with use?

It's probably just me getting used to them but the two 2 3/4lb tc's I used at the weekend for some pike fishing just seemed less poker like than when I first brought them?

mark brailsford 2

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I can't see that a Carbon rod would soften up with use, after all one of the reasons they use carbon is the fact that it is a very resilient material and very stable.

Windy

Reaction score
I'm not a carbon engineer or anything like, but I am a car enthusiast and the subject of carbon fibre does come up in the context of discussion about its longevity and stiffness etc.

Also on aircraft engineering forums with regard to things like the Carbon wings on the Airbus.

Summarising a loooot of contrary postings my understanding of it (which may well be completely misinformed and wrong) is that what we call carbon fibre is really two things, the Carbon fibres themselves and the substrate in which they are embedded, ie. cured resin of some type. The Carbon fibres give the stiffness, the resin holds them in place in relation to each other and "holds" the form in which they are shaped.

Two issues arise amongst those sceptical about the longevity and safety of Carbon fibre: a) whether the carbon fibres themselves snap invisibly and unawares within the the structure, one by one, until they no longer give the same strength to it; b) whether the resin / substrate itself equally gives up the ghost after a while.

Followed by c) which is the big unknown, is carbon fibre liable to snap and break unexpectedly and without warning after a certain period of stress ?