No license, get fined

J K

Reaction score
In our local paper this week is a report of a Derby man being fined £200 with £400 costs for fishing without a rod licence at Pipe Hill Pool Lichfield.

Specihunter

Reaction score
they had a big round up in bicester courts can't remember the fines but they caught a few .

Grumpy Git @

Reaction score
The problem is that there is no consistancy in the amount of fines.

EA news

Surely a rising scale starting at £500 up to the maximum would deter those that angle for free.

John Heelis

Reaction score
I agree with Grumpy as to the consistancy of fines. Wouldn't it be better if there was a fixed penalty fine such as £500 per rod, then £750 per rod for repeat offences.

i'm only new to the sport but i bought my licence as soon as i got a rod, not because i'm a goody good shoes but because it's the right thing to do.

As for people fishing at commercial waters without a licence, should the fishery be held resposible for allowing it to happen? I've never fished a commercial but i assume that you buy your day ticket, or membership, from the baliffs or the waters bait shop. Are the folk selling tickets for the day checking that you have a valid licence.

Ray Roberts

Reaction score
WhileI am in no way in favour with people getting away with not paying their licence fee the penalty has to be in keeping with the fines imposed for other offences. Is it a more serious offence than say; driving without insurance or shoplifting. I would have thought not, but the fines for bothas a first offence would probably be lower. I do however agree that there should always be a far, far,heavier fine for repeat offences.

J K

Reaction score
<blockquote class=quoteheader>John Heelis wrote (see)</blockquote><blockquote class=quote>