Centrepin Drum Width (and diameter)

bub81

Reaction score
Hi again,

Can anyone explain to me what the pro's and con's of wide and narrow drums are, please? Presumably there is a certain advantage to wide drums as they are heavier. If not, we'd all be using nice, light narrow drums, right?

Also, does anyone believe that a smaller drum diameter allows smoother fish playing (due to less line retrieve per rotation?)

Thanks,

Malcolm

S-Kippy

Reaction score
Stuck on the chuffin M25 somewhere between Heathro
Malc

I'm no pin expert but I do like using them whenever I can. Drum width I've no particular take on....I prefer a wide drum for heavier line and stillwater work but that's just me. Less chance of bedding in I guess. I dont like very narrow drums like [say] the old Rapidex

Diameter is different....I can't see how a smaller diameter would lead to smoother fish playing but it does make a big difference to line retrieval speed if you are trotting running water. I love my Bewick but its a only a 4 and a bit " [I think] diameter and it can take what seems like an age to retrieve the float after a long trot. A larger diameter reel makes a big difference to retrieval speed.

Skippy

tiinker

Banned
Banned
Reaction score