Honey, why is the fridge moving?

Struckanov

Reaction score
Hello there everyone!

I have a serious problem on my hands here and I need some urgent help!

I'm pleasure match angler and being that, I very often keep maggots for use when fishing... Now let's get one thing straight, when I say "keep maggots", what I mean is that, "I try to keep maggots stowed away in an air tight (purpose built) box in a fridge that my mom bought me for the one purpose of storing live bait" and still maggots are ALL OVER THE PLACE just a few hours after putting them there...

What am I doing wrong here?

Personally it's not a problem for me anymore since I have a "bait fridge" and all that but I am an instructor at a local fishing club and if one of my spurs (or their parents!!!) ask me the question: "What's the best way of storing maggots?" I would like not to tell them "buy a fridge second hand and just toss 'em in!"...

And while our at it I bet that it's not only maggots that are causing headaches...

Any help GREATLY appreciated

The Monk

Reaction score
Hi mate, its sounds like the lid on the container was badly fitting, I`ve had this, especially with pinkies, they seem to wriggle out of anything, a bit like scousers, although an old fridge in the garage is an help/forum/smilies/smile_smiley.gif

Alan Tyler

Reaction score
Unless you're trying to keep pinkies (greenbottle maggots, the Houdinis of the bait world), try leaving the lid off the box. Lidded, they sweat, and climb up the film of moisture they produce; left to breathe, they don't. Plenty of maize meal or bran will hep keep them dry and grounded, too.

Pinkies don't just sweat; they exude a sticky stuff even when well aerated. I've never tried to keep many!

Lord Paul

Reaction score
I would say the best thing if you haven't got a bait fridge is to get one. Saves all the trouble - been there try argos for one of those small frigdesthat hols 6 cans of beer - should be ok for live bait