Hello! Luke with a centerpin

tramp

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm luke from Rotherham, I started fishing around two years ago after my father-in-law took me to a local pond. I have very little practicle fishing experience and have only fished commercial ponds mostly with a pole.
I work at Cottam Power Station on the river trent, the station has a private section of bank and this year me and my father-in-law are going to get permits (through the stations sports and social club) and fish it, I'm looking forward to it as I have never fished flowing water before, Also Im excited at taking on some wild river fish (fish that have spent their lives swimming against the current). For christmas I got a center pin reel so I'm hoping to do some serious trotting, in fact centerpin advice is what has brought me here,
I have no experiance at all using the center pin reel and what little im finding on the internet seems to be aimed above my ability. What I'm looking for is advice on is Equipment (what rod would be best suited?) line (what rating mono or braid), rigs, set up & methods. This will be on the rver trent and although I don't really want to come accross any big fish yet I think I aught to be prepared for them. So ANY advice would be greatly recieved

Cheers
Luke

B

binka

Hi Luke and welcome to FM.

The first thing to consider is forget everyone else and can I have a permit too please? ;)

Seriously though it sounds as though you are in for some great fun... does the power station discharge warm water into the river, I know they used to but not sure nowadays but if it does I would step up the standard trotting gear as you will be encountering some good fish.