Mullet Fishing

Andyiow5

Reaction score
Hi could someone help, am I right in thinking to fish for mullet in a harbour, you use light freshwater rod and tackle, as I have never tried this before would be very grateful if anyone could advise me on the right tackle ect to use

Claudia Crowther

Reaction score
Hi Andy,

Yes you can use light(ish) freshwater tackle for mullet, I would recommend a 2-2.5TC carp rod and baitrunner, 8-10lb (depending on the amount of snags in the habour), a strong size 12 hook (drennan super special barbel hook for example) and lots of patients.

Surface feed with lots and lots of loose bread then try free lining bread flake on the hook.

Mullet fishing can be nerve racking as you watch them slurping up your free offers but ignoring your hook bait but patience and determination will pay off.

Good luck/forum/smilies/big_smile_smiley.gif

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
"Mullet fishing can be nerve racking . . . . . "

Yeah, right, tell me about it.

9 hours in a boat, with Ron who lost a good Mullet after about 20 minutes!

Nerve racking?

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA)

I've never caught many mullet in my life. The most have been on the wall near Durban harbour many years ago. From that you will deduce that they are found throughout the world.

Most mullet experts, including my friend Jim Gibbinson, use a longish fairly powerful match rod and often a centre-pin reel loaded with 6 lb line.

Hooks are 10 or 12 eyed tied direct with a medium sized waggler float set up. Bait is bread flake using mashed bread as groundbait. Mullet fight like hell. Size for size there is very little in British waters both fresh or salt that can touch them.

Mark Wintle

Reaction score
How is the nerve tonic going, Peter?