newcomer's questions

blankety blank

Reaction score
I am looking for some basic help setting myself up for some flyfishing.

I've got myself sorted with some kit, including a 9 foot 7 weight rod (a shakespeare Targa fly for £20) a basic greys reel, a WF 7weight floating line (with backing) and some braided loops.

Next week I am going for an evening at a local put and take lake in norfolk, and I hope to do a bit more of this, as well as goiung after chub on the rivers etc.

What do aI need in terms of a leader? I have a shoebox full of different monos etc, can I make my own tapered leaders, and if so, how long should they be and what combinations of line should i use?

also, are there any other ancilliary bits and pieces i should take with me?

Paul H

Reaction score
Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
I don't know that it's ideal as I'm no expert but I've been using lengths of flourocarbon in 10lb, 8lb then 6lb stepping down toward the fly in two foot lengths for the 10 & 8lb then 3 feet of the 6lb.

The extra foot on the 6lb allows for the loss of line when tying flies on and changing them over.

I take forceps, a small selection of flies, landing matt if it's catch & release and my net; that's about it. Oh and my make-shift priest if I'm keeping a couple.

S

Shrek

Your tapered leader needs to be approx 9ft, anymore and you'll struggle to cast it.

Paul's method is a good one, especially if you've a lot of line to use up, but remember that each not will provide a weakness that could result in a lost fish.

If I were you, I'd buy a couple of tapered leaders going down to an 8lb point, then tie on a couple of feet of 8lb tippet material and fish with that. Single fly on the point (possibly a damsel fly to start with) and you're away.

Don't forget to start casting with a short line and lengthen it once you've covered all the clock face angles as it were. If you start with a long line, you'll miss fish that are close in and will spook them too.