Berkley Vanish Fluoro

Neil Maidment

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to the use of flouro for hooklengths when after Chub and Barbel. Typically I fish with a feeder or straight lead and with a variety of hooklengths. In my quest for a some of the bigger Stour barbel, I've been experimenting with all sorts of different hooklength material.

However, I've now binneda couple of spools of Berkley Vanish as I've lost two fish (both chub) to breaks. They were not particularly big chub and were not from particularly challenging swims, the line just snapped under quite minimal pressure. I used the Palomar &/or Blood knots.

Was I just unlucky with a bad batch? Has anyone else a view on this particular product?

Alan Tyler

Reaction score
In the (limited) tests I've done, "4lb" rigs break at about 2.5 lb if you're lucky. If you just halve the strength on the label...

I can't recall seeing a reviewer who had a nice word to say about the stuff, and although my own PB barbel (almost a double... sigh...) came to a 10 lb Vanish hooklength, I didn't give it any more wellly than I would have with 5lb Maxima.

I hardly bother with the stuff now; if you put it in water it's clearly visible, so whoever says it's the same refractive index as water has clearly never seen a glass microscope slide in xylol - well, they wouldn't, the R.I.s match perfectly - and doesnt have access to a refractometer.

A big own-goal on Berkley's part, I fear; what product of theirs can we trust, now?

Barney 2

Reaction score
I stand to be corrected here...

Are the knots you mentioned notcompression type knots? I thought that was not a good thing with flouro as it cuts into itself. If the bin men haven't arrived, perhaps try agrinner knot (and knotless if you want a hair) and test it by pulling with your scales.

It would be interesting to hear if the grinner solved the problem for you to be confident enough to try it on the Stour again.

gerry h

Reaction score