Watercraft.

cg74

Reaction score
I was always of the opinion that watercraft is an intrinsic part of our ability to catch fish BUT is it?
Can it be bypassed?

Especially on waters with higher stock densities. Could info logged into a well thought out computer programme, such as; weather patterns, water temps, catches from swims, baits/techniques used etc etc

Would it then be possible for a complete novice (with only the ability to cast and play fish) to turn up on a new water and eclipse the match scene?
Though saying that, the ability to cast can be made easier using currently available technology like Magnetic braking found on multiplier reels.
As for feeding, that'll be done mechanically along the line of a tennis ball machine, the quantity of feed predetermined by the computer programme.

Could this work, what percentage of success would you think could be achieved?

Your thoughts but bear in mind this isn't exclusively a stillwater idea, it could also include rivers like the Wye.

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
Eclipse the match scene no, such a feeding machine would break the rules.
Some fisheries already use these machines to feed their stock and they are quite big and heavy so lugging one down to the wye would be a challenge along with all the other paraphanalia.
Regarding the rest of your ideas only time will tell but it seems unlikely to me....

cg74

Reaction score
Eclipse the match scene no, such a feeding machine would break the rules.
Some fisheries already use these machines to feed their stock and they are quite big and heavy so lugging one down to the wye would be a challenge along with all the other paraphanalia.
Regarding the rest of your ideas only time will tell but it seems unlikely to me....

Peter, whose rules would be broken using a bait feeding machine?

Regards size/weight obviously it would have to be a lightweight scaled down version.