Home made boilies

tooly1

Reaction score
Hi I've been fishing now for two years roughly and seen allot of programs with people making there own recipes for boilies and dips etc

Am really interested in making my own boilies and would mind some advice on what works and what doesn't and what's needed

I've seen the boilie making kits with the rolling trays and gun on eBay for like £10 for a cheap one would this do.also what ingredients are key and where can they be sourced from cheaply also I'd be interested in making shelf life boilies rather then freezer ones so what sort of preservatives are needed

steph mckenzie

Reaction score
To be fair, if you're thinking of making your own Shelf Life boilies, unless you are making large quantities and using large quantities it really isn't worth it, the shelf life boilies you can buy these days are really good quality.

It's only really worth making you're own boilies, IMO if you are going to be using a lot or that you want to make a specific recipe that can't be readily bought.

Look at how much you really use boilies and whether it really would be worth your while. It can be expensive to buy everything first off, but can pay for itself over time if you make a lot of them.

tiinker

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Most of my generation made there own and spent half a life time mixing and rolling . Of the many that did this though the 70s /90s I do not know of any today who mix and roll there own. There honestly is no advantage.

iannate

The fish made me do it!
Reaction score
I agree with Steph, however:

The best advise I can give is that you buy a bag of base mix (not 50/50 - proper base mix). Make up a small batch (2 egg) so that you can see how it feels and acts when mixing and rolling.