Centrepin reels

Derek Gibson

Reaction score
Do you use the pin,

I ask the question simply because I have seen very little evidence of any in use, save for the odd John Wilson programme.

I have noted on site, several references to odd new models of pin but I have no knowledge of them. This suggests their is a market?

For myself I have used Ariels and Speedia. I was brought up on the pin, and was taught to cast from the reel. Does anyone do that today, or is this another lost art. It's some years now since I last did, perhaps I'll test myself in the next few days.

Alan Tyler

Reaction score
Yes. Probably more than I should! A pair of Gee Bees for lakes, and mostly Trudex, Rapidex and Seldex on rivers.

This forum's absolutely bristling with "Pin-heads".

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA)

I own two centrepin reels and I use them a lot. I particularly like to use them for long trotting and stret pegging in fast water.

One is a John Wilson Heritage, the other is a Rapidex.

Alan Roe

Reaction score
I own a few probably too many!! However I do use all of them at different times whether it be fishing or casting demos

For anyone interested I will be at the Cheshire Game Fair on Sunday at Peover so feel free to come along and ask any questions about fishing and casting with a pin

F

Fred Bonney

I have a JW Heritage and a Purist II, beginning to use them more & more.

Chris Bettis

Reaction score
Yes, the old, tried and tested Speedia gets used every time that I can use it without affecting my fishing. In other words any time I do not need tocast more than about 20 to 30 yards and that is most of the time!

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA)

Many years ago I owned a Speedia. Whatever happened to it I'll never know, but it was on of the finest centrepins ever made. It wasn't expensive either.