Which Pole

isaac walton

Reaction score
I want to get into pole fishing however I have never used one so I was thinking about a 8/9 m pole to begin with,however, these all seem to be "margin poles", when I read the blurb relating to these poles it always states will handle large carp in the margins am I to assume then that unless fishing for carp these poles will not be sensitive enough for silvers for instance,sorry if this sounds stupid but as I say I have never used a pole before.
Also any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks:confused:

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
Best to look at 13m all-round poles and start using it@ at 9m. Once you get one and learn to use it you'll want it longer and longer.
Don't forget you'll need to buy roller(s) and other accessories too...

sagalout

Reaction score
All poles are insensitive, they are not rods or whips, you play the fish on the elastic. All t means when it says it's a carp pole is that it has a higher wall strength. Ideally for silvers you want a match 3 or 4 to make the top lighter on the strike.

Steve2020

Reaction score
I'd deffo go with peters suggestion, I know when I first bought a pole I made the mistake of buying one that was too short, I changed it after 6 months or so, go for a 13 metre they're a lot cheaper and lighter than what they were so shouldn't set you back too much.

Sent from galaxy S3

isaac walton

Reaction score
Thanks everyone for your very much appreciated comments, Sagalout, you mention a top three to make it better for silvers do I take it that you can purchase these kits separately and could they be fitted to a margin pole.
Also I can understand the logic of buying a longer pole but only using part of it to begin with.
Once again thanks to all for comments

sagalout

Reaction score