Tench fishing

mujician

Reaction score
I would like to target tench. I have some decent equipment now, (two carp/predator rods, and two free spools reels)
I am quite new to fishing so need as much info as posdible! How do I attract tench? What groundbait do they favour and could I make up my own at home? What is a good flavour additive for them? I've been told they like sweet flavours like strawberry. What hook bait have you had most success with while fishing for tench?

Up til now, I have only used a few handfuls of groundbait, how much do people recommend using?
Finally, I've been using off the shelf hooks with hair rigs, the length of which is quite short, would you recommend I made up my own with longer hook lengths? Many thanks in advance for your support.

barbelboi

Reaction score
First of all, you don't need carp/predator gear for tench.

Shallow, weedy estate lakes, and the small overgrown farm pond type of water, are probably where the most interesting tench fishing is to be had, although the average size fish rarely compare with that from gravel pits and reservoirs. I rarely fish commercial waters so I have no comment regading that aspect of fishing.