Sea spin fishing?

lightdragoon

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to sea fishing here so all advice is welcome. I've currently been using a spin rod from the beach, but keep loosing lures in snags. Should I buy some floating lures to avoid this or just start ledgering? Sorry if this all sounds really basic.

aebitim

Reaction score
Soft plastic lures are the way to go in snaggy ground, you will still lose a few but they are cheap and effective. 30lb braid and a 20lb mono leader will give you a good chance of pulling the lures out of the weed which I suspect is the problem. Floating lures will also help.

lightdragoon

Reaction score
How close do fish actually come into the shore? I can cast about 60 yards.

---------- Post added at 12:07 ---------- Previous post was at 12:02 ----------

Have I actually got much chance spinning from the shoreline? What could I catch? Sorry but I've fished freshwater my whole life

lightdragoon

Reaction score
I've decided to get a surf spin rod that can cast 4oz and go from there. All the tactics look similar to ledgering and feeder fishing. Just have to learn on the go.

bullet

Reaction score
If you're getting snagged spinning, I wouldn't ledger as you'll lose your gear in the snags. You could try float fishing which should keep you away from them providing you don't set it too deep. The rod you mention won't be a lot of good for spinning or float fishing as it will be too stiff. Better off using a heavyish feeder rod or a decent spinning rod. Rods with a Casting weight 20-50 gram or about 1.5lb test curve fast action should do.

mick b

Reaction score
If your getting snagged your fishing where the Bass should be.....at sometime during the tide.

Use Senko worms or Slug-Go soft lures with the hook point set in the up position, this way it will bounce off the snags unless they are nets!
The two biggest Bass Ive seen caught on rod and line both took a 3" soft eel bait fished on the surface......and each went over 10kgs.