Relationship between chub and barbel.

no-one in particular

Reaction score
It seems many rivers that are good barbel rivers are also good chub rivers or vica versa. Is it just coincidence, they thrive in the same environment.
Do they compete and when a rivers barbel population declines the chub population benefits?

chub_on_the_block

Reaction score
I am no fisheries scientist, but although adult fish may have similar habitat requirements (usually flowing water, gravelly bed etc) i suspect they use it differently and so do not compete directly. Chub are mid-water interceptors of food items, even surface feeders at times, whereas barbel grub around on the bed as "bottom-dwellers" (great term, something Rik Mayall would have been proud of).

maverick 7

Reaction score
You often see some rivers start off with a chub explosion only to give way to barbel a few years later. I remember the Swale at Topcliffe some 40 years ago.....it seemed that all you could get was chub, chub and more chub...not that we ever complained they was always stonking fish.

We had loads and loads over 5lb and quite a few over 6lb too...and with some nice roach and bream too....but then maybe 7 or 8 years later (if my memory serves me) you could hardly catch a chub it seemed to be barbel for quite a while...some 10 maybe 12 years later before we started seeing chub in their numbers again....it's strange how these things keep changing.

Yes, I think chub and barbel cope with each other quite well......as chub on the block says.....chub control the mid water and the barbel see to the food that gets through....maybe not quite like that ...but you know what I mean.

Maverick

Keith M

Reaction score
It seems many rivers that are good barbel rivers are also good chub rivers or vica versa. Is it just coincidence, they thrive in the same environment.