Beginner needs loads of advice

nolan1977

Reaction score
Hi all,

I hope I have put this in the right section. I am new to carp fishing. I want to get some advice with regards to rigs and anything really that will make me catch more fish.

Is there a standard basic rig that I should learn to tie or will it vary according weather I'm using a meethod feeder or bollies.

I'm on a really tight budget and want to start making my own groundbait. I have found loads of information on the internet but as the saying goes over analysis paralysis.

I just don't know where to start.

I have been using a basic running rig until now, using both the ledger and the method feeder. The right line I'm just not sure if that's right.

The other problem is winter fishing, i have been told that its more difficult.

Is there a secret to catching anything? Should I be using certain groundbait and hookbait. Should I be on the float instead? My last 2 sessions I havent caught anything in a 6 hour session

I know that there are laods of questions but I need some good advice

I don't want to catch 30lbs, although it would be great, I just want to catch

Thanks in advance

Nolan

itsfishingnotcatching

Reaction score
Welcome to FishingMagic Nolan, there are more qualified people than me to give advice on catching Carp and I don't specifically target them. At this time of year they're not falling over themselves to take the bait so I'd recommend minimal baiting. I had two from a pool a couple of weeks back which fell to some bread on a waggler in the margin. Worth trying some different tactics occasionally.
Ian

sam vimes

Reaction score
When you say "carp fishing", what exactly do you mean? Are we talking multiple rods, bite alarms etc on a big lake or do you mean trying to catch any carp from a smaller well stocked (commercial) fishery?

nolan1977

Reaction score
Thanks Ian I will give that a try.

---------- Post added at 14:23 ---------- Previous post was at 14:19 ----------