Chesil beach (first time)

Reaction score
Hi I am Pretty new to beach fishing having only tried once before on Shorham beach catching a few very small bass and flat fish using largely tactics Id use on the tidal River trent for Barbel.I have a week staying in Burton Bradstock by Chesil beech in May and would like to make a decent shot at fishing it PLEASE I would love some advice so I can prepare. Also what might I catch.

aebitim

Reaction score
Hi Paul,
Welcome aboard, species and tactics depend on the time of year, when are you down this way?

greenie62

Reaction score
Hi Paul,
Welcome to the mad house!
I'm jealous of you staying in BB - stayed there myself a few times in the hotel on top of the cliffs - wonderful views!
Might be worth taking a look at Paul Murphy's Blog (member = anglerpaulm) which includes a review of the local tackle shop down there in West Bay: Paul on Coarse Fishing: Tackle Store Review – West Bay Angling Centre

As Aebitm comments - the key to fishing down there all depends on what time of year it is.

Remember that Chesil Beach is a sloping rocky/pebbly beach so you need to have a think about strength of rod-rests/tripods!

Have fun - Tight Lines!

Last edited:

alsoran

Reaction score
Chesil Beach also gets hit by rouge waves on a very regular basis every tide, which makes it a dangerous place to be if you have never been before. Go have look at WorldSeaFishing some interesting videos/stories of rouge waves hitting anglers.

robertroach

Reaction score