Help Choosing Bite Alarms Please

bigyun2000

Reaction score
Hiya all

I am relatively new to fishing as a whole and even newer at Carp fishing. I am looking to buy a dual set of bite alarms preferably wireless. I have been told not to bother with cheap China replicas and buy FOX MICRON ALARMS.

I am a little OCD and generally like all my gear to be the same brand (TF GEAR) and was looking at buying either the TF Gear Magrunner Ignite Alarm Set at £109.99 or the TF Gear Reaction Alarm Set at £59.99

So i have a little dilema. Any help would be gratefully appreciated please.

Thanks
Tony

law

Reaction score
If everyone has suggested the old Fox's, I don't get why are you looking at something else?
TFG has a terrible reputation, yet Fox's are renown for going on for ever.
I have had a set for almost 20 years. In that time, I've replaced them with Delks, which failed, the new Fox set which went back under warranty and got full refund, yet I always fall back on my old Fox alarms. I've given up trying to find a replacement for them now so am just sticking with them.
I dropped one in a lake once. Was totally submerged. I netted it out, blew it dry and carried on using it without fault.

My mate had some cheapo alarms. Woke up with his spool half empty and his rod bent round. Neither the alarm or sounder had make a noise.

stevejay

Reaction score
2nd hand fox all the way. I still use original mmx which you can get on e bay for round £20.....absolute bargain. As mentioned, they stand the test of time and have features that cost an arm and leg on some brands.

I have just upgraded by buying a receiver as they are compatible.

If you are on a budget I wouldn't look anywhere else and avoid the cheaper brands as they probably won't last.

B

binka