One year on...

fishplate42

Reaction score
Well, that went quickly! This week it will be a year since I took up fishing. After a slow start, the momentum picked up in the second half of the year and now, although by no means an expert, I think I can take my stabilisers off and stop calling myself an absolute beginner.

I can now fish confidently and have even participated in a couple of matches. my best weight being last time when I caught 27lb. Okay not a huge amount but much more than I had expected.

I have been making my own boilies and groundbait. I 'designed' a spoof groundbait mix that I called Two Dog groundbait as a bit of a joke. Used as a method feeder mix it seems to have out-performed anything else I have used and my blog post that gives the recipe has had more hits than any other post by miles! Looks like the joke is on me.

Here I am, a few months off the big six-o, and I have found a new pastime that is consuming all my spare time. I though I was past the point where I could find this sort of enthusiasm for something new. I'm not :).

Thanks for the all help that members of this forum have given me over the past year, here's to the next one!

Ralph.

stu_the_blank

Reaction score
Glad that you've found the number one pastime, even if you left it a little late!

May you have many more years on the bank

Stu

greenie62

Reaction score
Well, that went quickly! This week it will be a year since I took up fishing....

Happy (Fishing) Birthday Ralph,
Well done - both for the fishing and the blogs!
Glad you've had a good'un.
Tight Lines :thumbs:

fishplate42

Reaction score
When I first started I thought I would have a rod and tackle, a net and box of bait. I also thought I would get bored after a few hours...

...How wrong can I be? A twelve hour session is not long enough and I have several rods and piles of associated miscellany. I had no idea just how many forms of fishing there are or just how much discussion is based around bait.