Bolt Rigs Gone Awry (Long Post)

lakhyaman

Reaction score
Hi

I live in Bangladesh and fish in my own little fishery there ( I have posted on the "Intro" forum)

Recently while fishing there I have run into problems with the hooks on the bolt rigs i have been using. I am very new to bolt rigs and the like and much prefer to fish with a float outfit so it is probably something I am doing wrong. If you will bear with me I feel I have to set up the situation so you can get a clearer picture:

The setting:

The water is a small one of about 4 acres. It is stocked with Indian cyprinids and Cyprinus carpio.

The Fish:

Although one species, the Catla (Catla Catla) are there up to 20 lbs most of the fish average between 6 and 10 lbs.

095.jpg

Small Catla (Catla catla)

080.jpg

Rohu (Labeo rohita)

095_zpsovq2znxe.jpg

Mrigal (Cirhinus mrigala)

787_zpsd5zb1fkv.jpg

Mahseer (Tor putitora)

041.jpg

The pics show the approximate size of the fish I was dealing with.

the Equipment:

Rod - Hardy Marksman Smuggler Avon (casting weight 60 gms)

Reel - Shimano Baitrunner DL 4000 FB

Line - .33 mm

The rig consisted of a 2 oz lead (semi fixed) with a 5 inch braid hooklink

Bait -0 hair rigged sweetcorn

the problem was with the hooks.

I had any number of runs and hook ups but every time I wound down to the fish the hook would straighten and the fish would be off. Thinking I had the wrong type of hook on I changed to other types and had the same result.

102_zpsvc1ee3gk.jpg

From left: Owner size 4 model no: 5111-071 cutting point hook. Owner size 2 5111-091 cutting point, Mustad size 2 model unknown, Gamakatsu Octopus size 6 hook.

The photo shows some of the hooks that were straightened.

The thing was that while the bolt rig was doing its thing on the side I was fishing with a peacock quill at my rod tip with a Hardy marksman 13 ft float rod with hooks from the same packets and landing fish after fish without an issue. In fact the photos show some of the fish caught!