Superstitions

thecrow

Reaction score
Following on from Dereks thread about playing music on the way to a venue has anyone got any other superstitions to do with fishing?

Mine is having these two coins in my tackle box at all times, I have had them for many years and I know it would make no difference to my fishing if I didn't have them with me but never the less I have to have them with me.

The Penny is dated 1862 and the Sixpence 1964.

Last edited:

imol

Reaction score
I always do "one extra turn for luck" on all my knots. I have no idea if it makes any difference, but I have been doing it for 40 years or so.

sam vimes

Reaction score
I don't do superstitions and lucky charms, though I do seem to manage a certain level of borderline OCD that might appear to be superstition from the outside. The reality is that the closest I get to superstition is a belief in Sod's Law. That has often manifested in new gear blanking. However, after buying rather a lot of new kit in the past few years, and having the odd red letter day when using it for the first time, my belief in that has waned somewhat.

B

binka

Setting up the landing net first is a must for me.

If I get dressed and my Y-fronts are inside out and back to front then they have to remain that way, as do inside out socks :confused:

sam vimes

Reaction score
Setting up the landing net first is a must for me.

Same for me, but is it really a superstition? I was taught to set a landing net up before a rod was even taken out. The reasoning being that you couldn't end up forgetting and fishing with no net set up if you got into the habit.

I've no doubt that it's become part of my OCD tendencies, and I've inflicted it on anyone that I've taught to fish, but I don't consider it a superstition.

B

binka