Question regarding shropshireanglersfederation fishing the River Severn (Shrewsbury)

anglingnoob

Reaction score
I'm new to fishing and based in Shrewsbury i was planning to fish in the River Severn. It states that you must release the fish back alive no matter what you catch. I thought it was possible to keep certain kinds of fish that catch under a certain amount is this not true regarding the River severn? Also just a side question is it safe to eat fish that you catch from a river? Cheers guys:beer:

thecrow

Reaction score
There are size limits for fish that can be taken that have been set by the EA but if a club that controls where you are fishing has a rule that no fish are to be removed that is the rule you should follow.

The bad one

Reaction score
If this is the way you open your account on here, can't see you being here very long :rolleyes:

Ray Daywalker Clarke

Reaction score
You should put all fish back, regardless of the rules, thats my take on it.

We have enough fish shortish in our rivers as it is, without people taking more.

Why do you want to take the fish anyway ??

anglingnoob

Reaction score
It's just the whole catch and release thing to me seems kind of silly, fishing for me is another form of hunting so i would be doing it to feed me and my family. The only kind of fishing i have done is Mackerel in Cornwall and that was great fun tasted great too! But of course i will be obeying my local rules i was just unsure of certain things thats all. Thanks for the replies guys :thumbs:

Ray Daywalker Clarke

Reaction score
It's just the whole catch and release thing to me seems kind of silly, fishing for me is another form of hunting so i would be doing it to feed me and my family. The only kind of fishing i have done is Mackerel in Cornwall and that was great fun tasted great too! But of course i will be obeying my local rules i was just unsure of certain things thats all. Thanks for the replies guys :thumbs: