Centrepin reel

swizzle

Reaction score
Would anyone be able to recommend a reasonably priced pin for a complete novice? I am eager to get one as I really want to learn how to trot rivers, not only that but whilst I'm not bored with using a fixed spool reel on stillwater the pin would be something different and a new experience.

Thanks

steve2

Reaction score
There are now many cheap(under£50) centre pins on the market. These all seem to have good reviews. I use Trudex,Rapidex and Youngs Purist reels.
Trudex and Rapidex can be found on Ebay and are not that expensive.
The last Trudex I bought cost £40.

Alan Tyler

Reaction score
Agree completely. I saw a chap trotting straight off the reel last week, "Nice reel," I said; it was a Theseus Elegance, almost a Marco Cortesi clone, asking price about £30.
I once called the Trudex the Telecaster of centre-pins; nobody took me to task.

There's never been a better time to get the 'pin habit. Just keep a vice-like grip on your wallet and don't fall for all the pretty "spokes-and-pillars" jobs too early in the game.

robtherake

Reaction score
Most of the fellas on here know I'm sold on the TFG Classic 'pin, which is a step above the cheapies both in build quality and fishability (it's streets ahead of my Marco Cortesi, which looks and feels cheap and nasty by comparison.) It trots beautifully and, filled with 15lb line, is plenty strong enough for kerb-crawling bait hoovers. First, a couple of clicks, then a huge sploosh and a swirl like God's toilet flushing when the fish realises it's slipped-up, followed by the reel's manic screech when it takes off like a scalded cat - ye canna beat it! Frightens the **** out of me - in a good way - every time. :D
Not that the Cortesi's a bad reel, just that the TFG 'pin is much more refined and is just £50. At the price, it's almost worth buying a second one just for the spare spool.