How much bait

jason1234

Reaction score
Hi I'm relatively new to carp fishing so have many questions, my main one is how much bait to feed to begin with and how much to top off with. I'm going to fish a 1 1/2 acre lake with around 80 fish mainly in mid 20's and some higher. I will be doing my first over night next week so would appreciate some advice, the owner said not to spod in as this spooks the fish and they avoid the bait for a couple of days , I plan to fish Pacific tuna boilies with stick mixes or stringers, but how many loose offering should I put around each rig to start with and how often should I top this up or recast my rods, any advise is appreciated

iannate

The fish made me do it!
Reaction score
How much indeed; there is no single answer to this because it will depend on the weather before and during your trip along with many other variables.

Generally the warmer it is the more the fish will feed, but there's a very big warning from the owner; it's a small lake and they will spook from a lot of noise, take heed.

This time of year you would be better just using your stick mixes in a pva bag and see how it goes, expect to spend most of your time getting a feel for the place, try to get an idea of any features and areas where the fish can be seen moving about and showing their presence or underwater features where they might hold up.

If boilies aren't used much on the lake (or even if they are), I would look to use bread, sweetcorn, maggots and some hemp.

If the water is coloured, put some sweetcorn, maggots and hemp under you rod tips to one side and see if they colour up the water (and drop a bait in gently) - If there are no ducks etc. on the lake you could also try chucking a few bits of bread and see if they like floating baits.

There are so many scenarios you'll just have to take it one step at a time, hope for the best but don't expect it, it's a funny time of year.

And Welcome to the forum, good luck on your foray.

rubio

Reaction score