new reel problems

nova12

Reaction score
Today I bought a new reel daiwa sweep fire 3000 for my float fishing. while I was spooling It up i realised the line was going on more to the top of the spool than the bottom .
I did some research and says take a washer off or put another on I tried this and it's still the exact same?
The line has gone on nice and I think it will help the line come off better when casting etc.?
What are your views on this will it hinder me in anyway?
Anybody else ever had this as it's my first time it's happend any help much appreciated

Ray Daywalker Clarke

Reaction score
You want the line to be the same on the whole of the spool, nice and even.

It's not going to help your casting if there's more line at the top of the spool, and i would say it could cause problems later on.

I would take the line off and start again. Sounds like you need another washer on if the line is spooling more at the top.

rayner

Reaction score
You want the line to be the same on the whole of the spool, nice and even.

It's not going to help your casting if there's more line at the top of the spool, and i would say it could cause problems later on.

I would take the line off and start again. Sounds like you need another washer on if the line is spooling more at the top.

That's right the spool is too low, I reckon a Diawa should come with the correct packing for the spool.
Perhaps try a felt washer it may lift it enough.

nova12

Reaction score
I've just put a washer on top of the other washer at the base and it's spooled up abit better but still a slight dome shape towards the top but not as bad at all think I can live with it now.
There are no more washers in the box so I guess this is how it should be

greenie62

Reaction score
Get yourself a spare washer asap for when you lose one! I've had this happen on big Shimanos - also the spare spool took less washers! :eek::eek:mg:

nova12

Reaction score