Dogs and cows and fish

laguna

Reaction score
Forgive the headline... I think I put something similar up before?

Anyway, I've been saying this for about 15 years; anglers baits reduce the life span of fish and cause obesity in fish, much as the same processed foods cause obesity, heart disease and type 2 diabetes in humans.

I read only yesterday an article that seems to confirm some of our suspicions (repeated on this evenings news) suggesting that fat is actually good for us and counting calories is a waste of time, the last 40 years of ill health is evidence enough that the 'experiment' isn't working.

Dogs eat meat - they are naturally lean
Cows eat grass and they are naturally fat
Fish eat more processed foods than natural food today than they did years ago - and are a lot fatter now than they ought be.

No coincidence then, that modern processed foods are killing us?

Basically when we eat saturated fat our bodies burn it as fuel, and when we eat carbohydrate foods, our body uses some as energy and converts the rest into fat - which is then stored in our bodies. If we do little to no exercise, these fat stores build up and we become... fat! with the obvious risk of increased heart disease, high blood pressure, strokes, diabetes etc. that the western world has been experiencing now for decades since the calorie-counting experiment started.

The upshot is, the old idea 'watch the calories and eat low fat foods' has now been challenged with the idea that eating foods that are naturally high in saturated fats and fewer carbohydrates are better for us.

and I agree.

Eggs and bacon (cooked in lard), sausages, full fat cream in our milk etc. and less lettuce! :w