Method Feeder Fishing

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Iwould like to try Method Feeder Fishing on Stillwaters, however, i have never tried this type of fishing before and i was wondering what size of Feeder Rod and what Size Reel i would need to cover this type of Fishing.

Also, are there any other factors i need to take in to consideration i.e Line size, type's of Feeders, and any Saftey Factors i need to consider?

Tight Lines

Regards

Steph. /forum/smilies/devil_smiley.gif

Phil Lambert

Reaction score
The method is a highly efficient means of catching a variety of species but you need to be kitted out right. There are a number of powerful feeder rods on the market and some are even called 'method feeder' rods. Make sure you buy a rod capable of chucking a method feeder without breaking!! Personally, I prefer to use barbel rods for method work. A John Wilson 1.75lb test curve Barbel System rod (NOT the Avon version -not pokey enough) is ideal (can now be bought for about £50) and it can be fished at 11ft or 13ft. I recently purchased a Shakespeare Mach 1 12ft Power Feeder and it's an absolute steal at under £40. Easily capable of launching small to medium feeders.

I tend to use buzzers as bite indicators on free runner type reels. Both the rods above have a variety of insert quiver tips ranging from 2 - 4oz. Use the one to suit the conditions but I tend to use the heaviest or even the solid top of the JW.

Reel sizes are in the 4000 - 5000 bracket and I prefer runner type. The Shimano Aero 5000 RE is a reasonably priced reel as is the Daiwa Regal Plus Series. Lines are 8 - 10lb bs mono (Daiwa Sensor is good) and I use Reflo 7lb 12oz hook lengths.