Autumn fishing

fishplate42

Reaction score
I have been fishing now for a couple of years. In my first, late autumn/winter I did very little fishing. I tried a little last year without much success.

Now, just coming into my third cold season, I plan to go and have another go tomorrow (Friday) and see if, the best part of a year on, I can make a better job of it. I am planning on taking a float rod and a light quiver tip rod. The plan is to fish bread/maggots/meat/corn.

The pond I intend to fish can be seen HERE. I intend to go with minimum gear, just rods, bait and chair plus a few tools and bits of end tackle, net and unhooking mat.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Ralph :)

peterjg

Reaction score
Fishing in late autumn can be very hard. Temperatures dropping quickly and the water is often now very clear before the winter rains. Fallen leaves can make fishing very difficult because if you are trotting and when slowing the float the leaves catch up with the float and spoil presentation, if you leger the leaves get caught up on the line. That's apart from all the leaves on the bottom. Also we have stale rivers needing fresh water water to remove the dying weed and fallen leaves. Big rivers are easier than small rivers at this time of year, due to there being more space between the blasted leaves.

I use maggots a bit more often in the late autumn in an effort to get some action. Find venues with a decent head of fish. Another thing to try is to start pike fishing now. What about a bit of predator fishing now, although pike are at their heaviest (females) at the end of the season now can be a very good time for pike and perch - using popped up herrings or air injected lobworms.

Canal fishing now is hard, the water is very clear, but at least the boat traffic will have lessened considerably.