Shimano ST 4000 Baitrunner recommendations.

yorkieman

Reaction score
Not been in the hobby very long and my present reel a Diawa was 23 years old when I acquired it so now as the handle is going sideways its time to get rid.

I would like a Baitrunner, but some models are very expensive although the ST models seem reasonableby priced but are they worth buying.

Just commercial waters at the moment, and never cast too far out - cannot trust my accuracy yet.

Anyone bought one recently ?

Thanks

mikench

Reaction score
Like you I am a relative novice but do like baitrunners for many of the reasons enunciated by many experienced members on here. I bought an Okuma Carbonite 140 size for less than £20 and it came with12lb line. I intended to use if for sea fishing in France but forgot to take it so I put a decent 5lb line on the spare spool and have used it here for General fishing ever since.

It feels as smooth as any of my other reels and for the price I couldn't go wrong and I do like it. Santa is going to bring a Shimano DL 2500/ Diawa equivalent but for the moment the Okuma is fine and I would commend it to you particularly at the price! I caught my biggest fish( a 13.5lb mirror) on it and have even float fished with it.

What it will be like in a few years time who knows; but the same could be said about me!:rolleyes:

yorkieman

Reaction score
Never heard of that make before, but just had a quick peep online and your right about the price and it looks well made too.

I read all the messages on this forum and the Baitrunners always seem to be a good choice of reel.

Would rather receive advice from the likes of FM members than going to the tackle shop and buying rubbish.

Thanks again.

john step

Reaction score
I have one of the Shimmy 4000ST. I wanted a small bait runner. It has not disappointed. The bait runner is very smooth and the clutch is too.