Drennan Series 7 Reels

Andy Pet

Reaction score
Does anyone use the Drennan rear drag reels? I know they are cheap but are they likely to self destruct within 12 months.

mikench

Reaction score
I have the feeder reel which is ok. Having discovered small free spool reels I much prefer them for a whole variety of reasons.

I cannot see the Drennen being used much now:(

Andy Pet

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I have no need for freespool reels - I thought I did but find them heavy compared to some of my 2500 size reels.

I've not found any bad reviews of the Series 7 yet

mikench

Reaction score
I feel a slight guilt whenever I give an opinion on fishing tackle as I am far from an expert and as none of my gear has had any hard and sustained use. I do not know what the Drennen weighs but , having considered the not so obvious benefits of small free spool reels I bought an Okuma 155 Carbonite for all of £20. It even came spooled with 12lb line and a spare spool on which I have put some 4lb.. I really like it and it is as smooth as any of my other reels. It weighs about the same as the Drennen. Santa brought me a Shimano DL2500 which I also like very much. This is a little smaller and lighter and feels perfect on my 11ft rod.
I like the ease with which you can thread the line on the rod when in freespool, how one can allow line to freespool when you have landed a fish but need more loose line and putting the reel in freespool mode when you need a pee, something from the car or want to pour a coffeee! These attributes were pointed out to me by others on this forum and I agree with them. I fish for whatever I can catch and both these reels are great for all types of feeder fishing. I have even used them for float fishing when I couldn't be bothered setting up my float rod.