How far’s your average drive?

B

binka

I don’t recall seeing this question come up before and thought I would ask.

I know there are specimen hunters who will think nothing of taking on several hours driving to reach an in form water but it’s not for me.

I used to regularly do a three hour round trip, arriving before dawn, to reach some of Lincolnshire’s most eastern drains for some in form pike fishing but I wouldn’t want to do that now either.

River fishing is generally an hour round trip and I’m just about to take on an old club water again for the sake of it being five minutes down the road.

I’m happy enough to go further for one offs but these days I tend to draw the line at an hour round trip for reasons of desire, practicality and cost.

What do you do?

maggot_dangler

Reaction score
I try to put a limit of 25 miles each way now as most times .

I Travel solo now almost exclusively so fuel costs come into play but also i am not good at getting up too early now so dont want to travel too far else fishing time gets a pruning .

PG ..

sam vimes

Reaction score
Though I accept that it limits my angling horizons, I actively try to avoid long drives to fish. I've not got enough cash to be wasting too much of it on travel. If I did wish to travel further afield, I'd have to fish that bit less. I prefer to fish very regularly, even if it's only for a few hours. It's difficult to justify traveling miles for just a few hours fishing.

I have the odd special trip per year, but that is likely to be little further than one hundred miles. The furthest water I'm a member of is just over twenty miles away. I doubt that I've ever fished that more than five times per season. My regular waters are all inside ten miles. Syndicate lake and regular river haunt at about three miles and slightly less regular bits of river at about five miles.

I'd put my average travel distance at no more than ten miles, even with the odd long trip thrown into the equation.

seth49