Birthday present - Sheffield Centre Pin

Hogweed

Reaction score
My sons, have presented me with a Sheffield centre pin for my birthday. It looks and feels stunning. I have always wanted a centre pin but couldn't really justify the expense.

I have never used one before...any tips?

What line do you experts use for your river fishing?
Should I fill the spool to the rim?
Do you only use it for trotting?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

nottskev

Reaction score
Yes, they're beautiful things, aren't they? I'm sure you'll be hearing from the trotting experts on here. Here's a thought while you wait for the season: if you put 50 metres of 4 or 5lb line on it now, you can try it out fishing close in for tench or carp (or anything, really) and get used to handling it before you get going on running water.

Keith M

Reaction score
My sons, have presented me with a Sheffield centre pin for my birthday. It looks and feels stunning. I have always wanted a centre pin but couldn't really justify the expense.

I have never used one before...any tips?

What line do you experts use for your river fishing?
If you are going to trot a stream or river with it then use a line that floats well such as Drennan Floatfish or a similar floating line or treat your line with a line floatant or grease to ensure that it will float.

Line strength? This really depends on the river and what fish are present in it but basically If I am targeting fish like Chub, Roach and dace and I'm not likely to catch any Barbel or Carp then I will use lines of between around 3 or 4lb; but if I am fishing a river or stream that holds Barbel and Carp I will step up my line to around 5 or 6lb when I'm trotting.

Should I fill the spool to the rim?
No! you don't need to fill up your spool, in fact the more line you have on your spool the more problems you will have with it bedding in etc.