Float "adapters"

sheffields12

Reaction score
Do any of you use float adapters?

Sometimes I like to change my float and try other things as I'm still new to fishing. However, it's a bit of a ball ache having to un-do all of my rig and start it all up again.

I've heard of float adapters, but can never seem to find any in the shop. When looking online there are so many different variants, I've no idea what I'm after!

I tend to use Waglers, i have loaded ones and unloaded. I don't fish with too heavy line, 4lb and 6lb.

Any help appreciated!

chrissh

Reaction score
I use 2 types the silicon ones that you lock in place with a shot either side or the fixed ones

The silicon ones I use the on rivers with waggler and shot the line to suit the float

The fixed ones are locked to the line with 2 rubber tubes, I use with loaded or pellet waggler’s the don’t move as much as the silicon when using a heavier float or on a long cast on commercials

Silicon 10 X SILICONE QUICK CHANGE RUBBER FLOAT ADAPTORS (CLEAR) | eBay

Fixed Korum Quickchange Float Adaptor

fishplate42

Reaction score
^^^ What chrissh said.

I was about to say the same. I use those silicone adapters on wagglers and the like, they grip the float stem very well. In fact some floats, like the Drennan Antennas don't have a hole in them for the line to pass and you have to use an adaptor. I also use what Drennan call Grippa stops instead of shot to hold the adaptor in position. These can't fall off and will not damage the line. There are plenty of them on eBay both rugby ball shape and sausage shaped.

The other quick change adaptors, like the Korum ones, are also available from several makers. I have some with metal rods and some with plastic rods so I can control the weight if required. I tend to use these for pellet waggling, if that is the correct term.

Ralph.

sheffields12

Reaction score
I use 2 types the silicon ones that you lock in place with a shot either side or the fixed ones