Help with strategy after rain

tomino2112

Reaction score
It seems (not 100% decided yet) that I might have the whole of Thursday for myself (cannot remember the last time that happened) and so what would be the better way to spend it than go fishing!

Sorry guys I am also very tired and so I want to have nice rest in one of comfy commercials. I am thinking Bury hill (Milton), but not 100% sure yet.

Now, here is the weather report for wednesday and thursday:

0LF9651.jpg

It will be heavy rain whole day on wednesday, not much of temperature change on Thursday and it should be quite windy on Thursday.

I want to have good session with plenty of action from small to mid size fish, Dont want to catch too many tiny roaches, and not gonna go for anything 10lb+. Crucian, bream, perch, carp around 5lb, that kind of fishing.

What would be your tactics? bait choice etc?

I am asking because I am not that experienced and would love to get good tips specifically after quite a big weather change.

I might be able to shuffle things around and go on Wednesday, but regardless image above all forecasts say pretty heavy rain, and I dont want to have to go home too early just because of rain. Or do you guys think it would be better to go tomorrow?

Last edited:

iain t

Reaction score
The weather channel says rain and strong SW winds around 24mph for weds and Thursday.
Stay home and watch some DVD's

tomino2112

Reaction score
Exactly what I didn't want to hear ... :(

I didn't see any reports of rain on Thursday, and if it stays like that, I will just go and see if the wind is bearable.

I possibly cannot waste this one day opportunity...

Bluenose

Reaction score
Regardless of day, just find a sheltered area where you can fish the margins, get in behind a bush, get the brolly up, pin it down tight and get yourself comfy. Then just take your time and enjoy your day.