New to fishing, new to forum

simon-jack

Reaction score
Been fishing for couple months but only drop shot & jigging method on a 7ft fox rage warrior rod with a shimano catana size 1000 reel. Caught plenty Perch and 2 pike so far. Best was 5.6lb a couple weeks back. Only on Flurocarbon not a trace. The other angler present on the bank of my local canal said that was an achievement in itself especially for a novice such as myself.

I would love to learn float fishing now. I'm just starting to learn all the lingo and terminology as some anglers use different terms.

I've purchased an old second hand 13ft Shimano Hyperloop match rod. But I've no reel yet. I'm thinking of going to a local second hand fishing tackle shop and just explaining roughly to him that I'm new to fishing and need a cheap set up. Think that'd be a good idea?

I'm aware I need around 4-6lb line, some shot, some hook links and a couple floats

Anything else?*

Any help would be appreciated. As I've totally fallen in love with fishing but it can be a bit unnerving asking other anglers when they also seem to enjoy the beauty of the outdoors and the peace and quiet.

I'm local to Castleford in West Yorkshire if there's anybody from this neck of the woods present, Hi

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

greenie62

Reaction score
Hi Simon-Jack,
Welcome to the FM Mad-House!
Hope you're enjoying your new adventures.

If you want a new reel - here's a page from one of the tackle dealers to give you an idea of the range of Shimano reels - and the prices for them!
Shimano Coarse Reels – Chapmans Angling
A couple of tips:
- Don't buy a reel that's too large for the rod (a 2500 - 4000 size should be enough)
- Make sure it's got a spare spool (Shimano spare spools are expensive!)
- Work out what kind of fishing you want to do and where - Canals, rivers, lakes, commercial carp fisheries, etc
- Ensure that the line you buy is enough to fill the reel spool without knotting more on!