New to Fly fishing.

Mithrandir

Reaction score
Hi All,

I have finally decided to try a bit of fluff chucking in the coming year. As a complete newbie to the "gentleman's art" I have some seriously stupid questions.

I have acquired a 7wt fly rod cheaply ( a bit on the heavy side but then I am a novice and thought it best to go strong to cover my inexperience).

I have a couple of matching reels, I was going to load one with floating line and one with intermediate, think that is a sensible approach.

Right, now for the dumb questions.

1. What strength of backing should I use with a 7WT line? ( 20 or 30 lb seem to be the options).

2. What breaking strain leader should I be using? ( I plan on trying out for trout and grayling on the hampshire avon, so I guessed about 4 lb)

3. If I am fly fishing is my coarse license valid or do I have to purchase a game licence?

4. what are the recommended knots for attaching backing to fly line, and leader to line?

5. Is a tippet the same as a leader.

6. what are the best "basic" flies to have in the box on my first few trips, do not really want to spend loads on flies that will sit in a box looking pretty.

7. Is this rod suitable for a bit of saltwater fly fishing, I fancied having a bash at some mullet on a fly.

8. should I be using a bite indicator ( seems to be a small float at the leader junction) or should I just wait for the line to race off?

Well that is all I can think of now, I am sure some of you will know, and maybe offer a few suggestions for thing I have missed.

Thanks

Mike

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA)

Hi Mucker,

1: 30 lbs is about right - braided dacron type.

2: 4lb is rather light for leader material, 6 lb might be better. If you are fishing a river, a knotless tapered leader to 2X is a good idea, then you can tie on tippets of 4 to 6 lb. Don't go too light at first. Trout fight very hard.