Chemical Assistance for the Humble Maggot

D

Dave Slater

Nice one Lee. If ever a fish was deserved.

/forum/smilies/smile_smiley.gif

F

Fred Bonney

Lee, bearing in mind your past record on the river,could your lack of doubles have anything to do with using maggot?

Reaction score
Lee, let me cheer you up.

Last year, toward the end of this season, a friend informed me he had never caught a barbel, so I dutifully took him off for an evening on the middle Trent. I had two chub and he promptly knocked out four barbs, two small ones, one at 7-08 and then, at around half eleven, one at 11-04.

I have been giving him some stick for the last twelve months about it.

This year, he phoned me on the second to last weekend of the season asking for a return vist before the season ended. Again, I dutifully took him back to the scene of the crime. Once there, I had two small barbel, whereupon he caught six, from small ones up to one at 10-08.

Twotrips, two doubles. I very nearly left him there and let him walk home! Am now very dubious about next year!

Reaction score
Well done Lee. Interesting as ever. 8oz weights!!!!!! Blimey that's the same weight as the minnows on the Dane!

I know you now regret not taking advantage of the kind offer from those two genteel maidens of Clifton but you do sound a bit desperate

"wearing nothing but a purple thong and a pair of golden cowboy boots "

Still you've demonstrated patience is a virtue..so there's always next season.

regards

Poshers

Lee Swords

Reaction score
Cheers!

I use a Mark Tunley rod ( buying the other one to make a matchng pair at the BS National) and a Fox 2.75lb extremis job

line is Kryston Snyde because it is so bloody tough and at £1.30 a re-fill is so cheap I can change it every other session and not break the bank