marker rods

klik2change

Reaction score
Here's another question for you all. What are the useful characteristics of a marker rod? the rod i have used until now cannot cast far enough. i have an old fox rangemaster, which i trod on and subsequently repaired. it now has a piece of carbon landing net handle just above the butt. it casts now as well as itever did. would this work as a marker rod? or is the tip too stiff?

Ian Gemson

Reaction score
Hi

You cant have a stiff enough marker rod. The stiffness of the rod transmits more feeling into you hands and the feelingis therefore not lost in the soft compression of the tip.

A good Marker rod is useually a spod rod/. It cast really well and isnaturally very stiff.

The chub Outkast is a great marker rod.

trev (100M bronze)

Reaction score
If your marker rod cant cast as far as your actual baited hook rod then there is no point in using it as a marker rod. Like Ian says a good stiff rod will transmit more feeling (especially if you use braid) but there is no point in finding a feature then casting further than it. That said it will still be a usefull rod for finding features and for spodding small amounts acurately, and anyway there is the added bonus of using a rod that you have given new life too. I bet it would be good for chucking small deadbaits out in winter as well.

klik2change

Reaction score
Thanks Ian & Trev. what you have said soundssensible to me. i will use the rangemaster and see how i get on with it. i have also noticed something new in the time i have been otherwise occupied with work [aargh], namely the feature finding lead with a small metal rod built into it.

Ihave a beachcaster that i use for spodding with 20lb mono on it. it always seems to work very well, with no problems at all. i dont think the 2.5 lb rangemaster would cope with sustained spodding, though i have actually used it for casting herrings - didnt catch much though.

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
Ian,