Buying a rod

Matt Coops

Reaction score
im going to buy my first rod on friday and need some advise on how big and whats good for a beginner also it needs to be quite cheap i dont mid paying under £70. so any advise and sujestions would be great

Thanks Matt /forum/smilies/smile_smiley.gif

Lord Paul

Reaction score
Matt What sort of fishing arre you intending to do carp, or silver fish , river or still water?

Float or ledger

Without knowing this I'd say a JW avon quiver is a decent allrounder or a shakespeare - probably pick up a float and a quiver tip or around £70-80 mark with Shakespears - the 10ft bomb wand Mach 2 is a great rod and costs about £30

13ft would be a good length but without knowing whatyou intend to fish for I'd can give better advice

Matt Coops

Reaction score
i dont know im fishing in a still water lake if thats makes a diffrence

sorry for not giving as much infomation as you would like im a newbie /forum/smilies/sad_smiley.gif

also im floating

S

Sean Meeghan

I'd lay off the illicit substances then! /forum/smilies/smile_smiley.gif

Seriously, you need to buy a 13ft float rod then. Have you got a reel? You'll be able to buy a decent rod and reel for £70. If you've already got a reel then you'll be able to buy a float rod and a ledger rod such as the Shakespeare wand.

Go into your local tackle shop and ask advice.

Lord Paul

Reaction score
Has Sean says 13 ft rod - if you'renot sure what's in the lake I'd look for a rod that will cope with 6lb breaking strain and spool your reel with 6lb line - then you can fish for carp in the 10lb range with 6lb line straight thro' or use a lighter hook line for the smaller fish.

If you're float fishing get a rod light enough so you can hold it comfortably for a few hours

Ray Daywalker Clarke

Reaction score
Hi Matt,

Welcome to FM, if you fill in your profile members will be able to give more advice.