Barbel and Carp bite detection

al-samak

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I have some thoughts regarding bite detection I'd like some opinions on. I am a beginner, so I stand to be corrected if I have the complete wrong end of the stick!

It seems to me, whilst fishing for barbel, many people use either the tip of the rod, or the bait runner for bite detection. For example, if using the tip, they will only strike into the barbel when the whole tip swings round in an unmissable take. Experienced barbel anglers talk about "sitting on your hands, you'll know when it's a barbel take." If using the bait runner, it becomes obvious when to strike as the line starts screaming off the reel.

What both these methods have in common, is that the barbel is already hooked when you strike, i.e. you are not striking at small nibbles hoping to hook a barbel that would otherwise get away unhooked.

Moving on to carp fishing, carp anglers seem to favour an array of alarms and bobbins. Having said that, what they have in common with barbel anglers is that they only strike into a fish when their alarms are screaming. i.e. They are not striking into the smaller bleeps or knocks hoping to hit a fish, like the barbel, the carp is already hooked and off on a run when they strike.

My conclusion from all this is that if fishing for carp or barbel, the only bite indication you need is if the fish picks up the bait and runs directly towards you?
Is this a fair conclusion??

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
My conclusion from all this is that if fishing for carp or barbel, the only bite indication you need is if the fish picks up the bait and runs directly towards you?
Is this a fair conclusion??