New to Carping

• Thread starter Willie John Russell
  • Start date
W

Willie John Russell

As I'm very new to carp fishing I've decided that two rods is the maximum that I can handle until I gain some experience. To this end I'm looking for advice on which test curves I should be considering. My rod preference has always been for a progressive action and having handled one of the 'Giant' rods at the weekend I believe I've already settled on the brand.
And so to my dilema - should I be looking at one rod with a tc of 2.25lb for fishing the margins to short distance and one rod with a tc of 2.75lb for middle distances? (given waters of, say, 10 acres.) Your advice and thoughts would be most appreciated.

R

Roto Fryer

depents how you like your rods 2.75 seems to be the most popular to start with

W

Willie John Russell

Thanks Roto, as I say I prefer my rods with a progressive action, what I don't want is to end up with two 'pokers', hence my thoughts on two different test curves. As an example, If I thought I could get by using rods with a tc of 1.75lb, whereby I could also use them to fish for river barbel, then I'd take that route. At the same time I don't want to use a rod which is too soft and thereby spend excessive time in playing the fish out.

D

David Will

Willie rods need to be matched to circumstances. ie distance , snags , line strength etc.In most cases 1.75's will be fine.However if you are after large fish at distance in weed or snags the extra control of a heavier rod may be needed.Match the rod to your fishing. This is why most are using 2.5 to 3.00 test curves as one of these will cast to the horizon yet still be used when fishing in the edge. A 1.75 is not a distance tool therefore you may be limiting your options on big waters if you fish such places.

A

andrew jackson