Hard hook baits

Dal

Reaction score
I've been making my own Boillies for about 15 years now but recently I've been having a problem with them being demolished by "nuisance" fish within 3 of 4 hours, I boil them as normal for 3 minutes and dry them for about an hour before freezing, should I air-dry them (if so for how long) or does any one have any better ideas?

Bluenose

Reaction score
I think they might need air drying for longer before freezing Dal, also when you defrost if you leave them in the bag if there is a lot of moisture in there, this can soften them prematurely as they are already being kept in water, if you see what I mean!

Also, and Frothey or someone will know more about this, the hardness can depend on the ingredients.

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
I have absolutely no idea, i have never heard of nuisance fish demolishing boilies.
I know there used to be like a plastic cage that they used to use to house the boilie in to stop cray fish, or they used pieces of old tights to wrap the boilie in, but i never tried them.

Dal

Reaction score
Cheers EC, yes they do seem to have a fair bit of frost/moisture in them, I should have thought of that (Doh)! As you say perhaps drying them for longer before freezing could do the trick. I've never air-dried though, perhaps I'll try that for a few days/weeks or so? It just seems funny that this problem has only happened in the last 6 months to a year, the bream in my local lake now go up to 14lb so perhaps they're the culprits!

Stealph, when I say nuisance fish, these bream only ran to about 3-4lb 10 years ago but they shoal in "mob handed" now and strip the swim of freebies. Perhaps I'll have a look at the plastic thingeys but I'd like to make the baits rock hard.

whey gel or blood powder will harden them up look on ccmoors site for them

Thanks for that Wayne, I'll have a look;)

Nobby C (ACA)

Reaction score