rod, and line advice please..

tony 7

Reaction score
hi everyone..

where i fish are 2 lakes, both stock carp, well having had my rod break/ snap, and line last week, i now need to upgrade my set-up..( it was a float rod...lol )

im fishing for carp, and all i have is a shimano hyperloop 2500rb reel with a 4lb main line, and i have been tld i need a bigger reel/ line..

so whats a nice carp rod, and set-up..
as you can read from my intro im new to fishing, and i plan to go to maidstone anagling next week to get what i hope you guys believe will be a half decent set-up..

the carp range from 4-10lb bottom lake, to 25lb +top lake, id like to fish in both..

Thanks.

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
a 12 foot 2¾ lb test curve rod
A 8000 size baitrunner reel
12lb mainline.

That will cover most Carp fishing situations that most Carp Fishermen will find themselves fishing.

The only time i would step up the size of the Rod and Reel would be if i was doing a lot of Snag Fishing or if i wanted to Fish at extreme range say, over 120 yards.

But as a General all round set up, the first set up will have plenty of power, should cast 100 yards without to many problems and will land you big fish without pulling the head clean off of them :D

tony 7

Reaction score
thanks Viper..

any "good" rod names i should be looking out for?..

i dont want to be spending hundreds, but i dont want to " bundle deal" rod and kits...lol

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
Fox, Shimano, Nash, Chub, Daiwa to be honest there are a load of really good Carp rods out there for under £100.00p that will certainly do the Job for you.

Fox Warrior
Chub Outkast
Nash Venom
Daiwa Mission X
Shimano Hyperloop BX

tony 7

Reaction score
il crack on now, and see what i can find on google...lol

im guessing a carbon carp rod for £100 is a long shot?..

Frothey

Reaction score