Method feeder for carp

J

John Hawkins

I am new to method fishing and am fishing a stillwater in Surrey (about 3 acres and up to 8ft deep) stocked with mirrors and commons av about 3lb. I would like to try the method feeder but can anyone suggest rigs and/or groundbait mixes?

A

ace carper

Hi John, try trout pellet as a base mix and add hemp and corn or whatever hook bait you are using to the mix. To prepare the pellets, put them in a bait bucket and just about cover with boiling water. Seal the lid and leave to cool. The pellets will soften and can be mixed to form a paste. mix in the hemp etc and use on any standard method feeder with a 4-6 inch hair rig. mould the groundbait round the feeder, and lightly push the hookbait into it to conceal it. This also prevents tangles on the cast. Fox inline feeders are excellent for the job.
Ace

S

Steve Bundock

Great advice from Ace, but replace the trout pellets with one made specifically for carp. It has been found that trout pellets are loaded with various fats and oils specific for their dietary needs, carp have trouble, some times fatally, in reducing/using these fats and oils, to the extent that some fisheries have banned the use of trout pellets, but allow carp pellets.
Ace by 4-6 inch hair rig, do you mean 4-6 inch hook length?

A

ace carper

Yes sorry John, I meant a 4-6" hooklength with a standard hair. I'm not sure I entirely agree with Steves theory about trout pellets as I have seen no documented evidence on fatallities, but his advice is sound nonetheless. If carp pellets can be softened to make a base mix\paste, then they will do the same job. The overall nature of the groundbait should be one that breaks down in water and does not stay as a congealed mass around the feeder. Try some experiments with a bowl of water John to see how your mix performs when submerged. Just drop a ball in and see how long it takes to break down.

Stuart Dennis

Reaction score